## Australasian Hydrographic Society

Promoting the science of hydrography and marine exploration

The AHS is a registered non-profit organisation ABN 86 101 591 502									
www.ahs.asn.au									
Patron:Vice-Admiral	President:	Secretary:	Treasurer:	Director – Communications and	Chair - AOTM				
Chris Ritchie, AO, RAN (Rtd)	Steve Duffield	Peter Locke	Mick Elmslie	Media: Kam Austine	Paul Hornsby				
Chairman - West Australia:	Chair - East Australia:	Chair - New Zealand:	Chair – South West Pacific:	Chair - Awards Panel:	Chair - Education Board:				
Henry Johnson	Kam Austine	Mr Brad Cooper	CAPT John Maschke RANR	Rhys Davies	Emily Tidey				



Date: 29/01/2024

Subject: Australasian Hydrographic Society (AHS) Awards Scheme 2022/2023 – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Reference: Policy Directive (Objective 4) – AHS Awards Scheme – 15 January 2024.

Dear fellow members,

I am pleased to formally call for nominations for this year's Australasian Hydrographic Society (AHS) Awards.

The AHS Awards Scheme is unique, well established in the region and is recognised as prestigious by a variety of companies, states and governments. A number of very worthy recipients have received these awards over the years. The complete list can be found here: <u>AHS Awards (wildapricot.org)</u>

This past year saw a worthy individual, Mr. G. Chisholm, publicly recognised for their contribution to the greater science of hydrography and presented with the uniquely designed and impressive AHS award certificates and glass trophy. So, it is with pleasure that I ask you to again consider those who you believe have contributed to our industry in 2023/2024 in a manner worthy of recognition.

In doing so it is requested that you review the Awards Policy, notably section 7, to refresh your memory on the variety of award categories that have been ratified paying particular attention to categories such as Scientific, Technological, Safety, Environmental, Information Management, Literary/Media and Exhibition achievement. Recognition is open to nonmembers but a financial AHS Individual or Corporate AHS member <u>must</u> complete the final nomination.

While nominations can be submitted all year round, the **closing date for this year's 2023/24 nominations is** <u>22 March 2024</u>. The intention of the modified and shortened time frame this year is to coincide with the AHS HydroSpatial Conference in Hobart, occurring 09-12 April 2024. This will present a great opportunity for the recipients of the awards to be recognised by the industry. Note, if the recipient is not in attendance, the award will be presented by their respective regional chair at the nearest available opportunity.

The Awards Policy is available for your reference on the AHS website. Further, for your convenience the Policy and award nomination forms are attached to this email.

SW Pacific Region: CAPT John Maschke RANR PO Box 533 Earlville Qld 4870

New Zealand Region: UGNZ, Private Bag 32901, Devonport 0622, Auckland New Zealand

## Australasian Hydrographic Society

Promoting the science of hydrography and marine exploration

The AHS is a registered non-profit organisation ABN 86 101 591 502 www.ahs.asn.au									
Patron:Vice-Admiral	President:	Secretary:	Treasurer:	Director – Communications and	Chair - AOTM				
Chris Ritchie, AO, RAN (Rtd)	Steve Duffield	Peter Locke	Mick Elmslie	Media: Kam Austine	Paul Hornsby				
Chairman - West Australia:	Chair - East Australia:	Chair - New Zealand:	Chair – South West Pacific:	Chair - Awards Panel:	Chair - Education Board:				
Henry Johnson	Kam Austine	Mr Brad Cooper	CAPT John Maschke RANR	Rhys Davies	Emily Tidey				



Since its inception, the AHS charter has promoted hydrography and related sciences. The AHS has a growing membership that covers the broad spectrum of those involved or having an expressed interest in hydrography. As such, there remains no group involved with hydrographic pursuits that is better able to recognize the various contributions across the industry and broader community than the AHS; **so please act on this request**.

Kind regards,

Steve Duffield President Australasian Hydrographic Society

<u>Attachments:</u> Nomination Form Policy Directive

SW Pacific Region: CAPT John Maschke RANR PO Box 533 Earlville Qld 4870

New Zealand Region: UGNZ, Private Bag 32901, Devonport 0622, Auckland New Zealand Australia On The Map: Paul Hornsby PO Box 40 Civc Square ACT 2608 Page 2 of 2